City and Guilds 2000

The City and Guilds 2000 (Certificate/Diploma in Access to Building Services Engineering) is an introductory qualification that includes four main building engineering services areas, these are, plumbing, electro technical, refrigeration and air conditioning, and heating and ventilating.

The qualification is aimed at people with little to no experience and is not only aimed at people who want to become a plumber but also people who may want to work as an electrician of refrigeration specialist in the future.

The qualification provides a broad introduction into building services and is assessed as both practical and knowledge tests. The qualification units are listed below so you can understand the types of information that will be learnt during the qualification.

Unit Title Unit Code
BSE Health & Safety 101
BSE Environmental Awareness 102 
BSE Science  103 
Building Services Engineering 104 
Electrical  105 
Plumbing  106 
Certifcate/Diploma in Access to Building Services Engineering  107 
 Refrigeration adn Air Conditioning 108 
 BSE Health & Safety 201 
 BSE Environmental Awareness 202 
 BSE Science 203 

The student can decide whether to take the Level 1 or Level 2 units for the three Health & Safety subjects, if the Level 2 units are taken these can be used for future City & Guild qualifications where they are relevant.